Ladies and Gentleman…The Blues

From M.C. Handy to BB King to Muddy Waters, the blues touches my soul on a level like no other. I’m no seasoned blues veteran by any means. I actually was exploring different musical genres and what better place to start than where it all begin. All my favorite bands and musicians I’m sure can trace some influence back to the blues. Actually i’ve been working on this playlist for a few weeks, i was trying to include all my favorite blues songs but it would have taken forever so i narrowed it down to the absolute definitive guide, IMHO. I’m sure it is missing some greats but what makes the blues so special to me is that it touches my soul. It’s like despair and hope altogether in one song. One raw emotional song. That’s in a nutshell what the blues is to me and everyone is more than welcome to have your own opinion. As a matter of fact since I’m still fresh into this genre i’d love to hear some suggestions on some other great blues songs or musicians in the comments. So without further ado…

Listen to full playlist here Ladies and Gentlemen…The Blues hosted by 8tracks.com

Listen to individual tracks by clicking on the song title.

1. Earl Hooker – End Of The Blues
2. B.B. King & Eric Clapton -Three O’clock Blues
3. Freddie King – Five Long Years
4. Otis Rush – Gotta’ Be Some Changes Made
5. John Lee Hooker – Chill Out (Things Gonna Change)
6. Susan Tedeschi – Just Won’t Burn
7. B.B. King & Eric Clapton – Riding With The King
8. Muddy Waters – Manish Boy
9. Albert Collins – I Ain’t Drunk
10. Keb’ Mo’ & Corey Harris – Sweet Home Chicago
11. Muddy Waters – (I’m Your) Hoochie Coochie Man
12. Keb’ Mo’ – Am I Wrong
13. J.B. Lenoir – Alabama Blues
14. Albert King – Born under a bad sign
15. Ray Charles – What’d I say
16. Luther Allison – Cherry Red Wine
17. Stevie Ray Vaughn & Double Trouble – Pride And Joy
18. Elmore James- I Believe My Time Ain’t Long (Dust My Broom)
19. Howlin’ Wolf- The Red Rooster
20. Jimi Hendrix – Red House
21. Derek and the Dominos – Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out
22. Cassandra Wilson – Vietnam Blues

Some content on this page was disabled on November 17, 2017 as a result of a DMCA takedown notice from PRS for Music. You can learn more about the DMCA here:

https://en.support.wordpress.com/copyright-and-the-dmca/

3 comments
  1. Good post! I feel like it’s so hard to find my way around blues and this helps 🙂

    Also…i may be slightly stupid but i can’t figure out how to download the song of the day…help me out?

  2. Hm, i’m seeing the wordpress audioplayer doesn’t have an option for download. So i’ll put a link under the player for the song to download. Thanks for pointing that out.

Leave a Reply

