One Day at a Time (Soundtrack to Recovery)

Inspiration for this playlist comes from my own struggle with addiction. The road to recovery is long and hard but through commitment i’ve found that it gets easier over time. There are still times where i feel like slipping back into my old ways but among other things that i do to take my mind off of it, listening to music is one of the things that helps more than anything. I have compiled a list of songs that have helped me through some of my darkest days of trying to stay sober in hopes that maybe some of these songs may do the same for someone else. For this particular playlist i listed lines from the song that really struck a chord with me. If you have any songs that have helped you that you’d like to share or lines from songs, please feel free to in the comments

Listen Here Soundtrack to Recovery Free at 8tracks

Side A:

1. Monsters of Folk – Dear God (Sincerely M.o.F.)
“Dear God I see you move the mountains
Dear God I see you moving trees
Sometimes it’s nothing to believe in, no no
Sometimes it’s everything I see”

2.Tracy Chapman – All That You Have Is Your Soul
“Here I am, I’m waiting for a better day
A second chance
A little luck to come my way
A hope to dream, a hope that I can sleep again
And wake in the world with a clear conscience and clean hands
‘Cause all that you have is your soul

3.City and Colour – O’ Sister
“… the blackness in your heart, won’t last forever
I know it’s tearing you apart, but it’s a storm you can weather”

4.Bright Eyes – Ladder Song
“You’re not alone in anything
You’re not alone and trying to be.”

5.New Radicals – I Don’t Wanna Die Anymore
“I wanna live and there’s only one way
I don’t wanna die anymore
I want to live it up”

6.Our Lady Peace – Life
“Oh life is waiting for you
It’s all messed up but we’re alive”

7.Incubus – Warning
“Don’t ever let life pass you by”

Side B:

1.Nas and Damian Marley – Count Your Blessings
“I’ve got strength and endurance
So I count my blessings”

2.John Legend ft. The Roots – Wake Up Everybody
“And even in his generation living through computers
Only love, love, love can reboot us”

3.Eminem – Not Afraid
I won’t quote this one because this is pretty much a sobriety anthem. The whole thing struck a chord.

4.TI – Get Back Up
“Never mind my imperfections this is fact, remember that
No mistakes too great to recover and bounce back”

5.Eminem – Going Through Changes
“Wake up in the hospital, full of tubes, plus somehow I’m pullin’ through.
Swear when I come back I’ma be bulletproof.”

6.Erykah Badu – Bag Lady
“If you start breathing then you won’t believe it
You’ll feel so much better”

7.Atmosphere – Gods Bathroom Floor
“i’m tired out by the distances achieved walkin in my sleep
floors got shifted since the high got a tad too deep
ask Dad to keep cool ill call him back
as soon as i resume normal, and get out of this bathroom
and call management
seek some reimbursement
for the nerve endings that burn from the first hits.”

Leave a Reply

